What's new
What's new

Repair of 10EE handwheel-style collet draw bar

Jimbojet

Aluminum
Hey guys-

My 10EE has the old-fashioned Monarch 5C nosepiece with the handwheel draw bar. The threads in the drawbar have finally had too much use and the last nine of its sixteen threads have pulled out (these are the threads that engage collets). I am not sure how it was assembled, and therefore don't know how to affect a repair. It appears that the threaded tube section has been pressed into the larger multi-OD end piece. If so, I am thinking I might be able to separate the two pieces, then cut threads into the other end of the tube and press it back together.

Does anyone out there have experience solving a problem like this? I have attached some photos (I hope I have, anyway; I'm not too experienced at this).

Jim

Attachments

• 20170405_201738a.jpg
    20170405_201738a.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 412
  • 20170405_201703a.jpg
    20170405_201703a.jpg
    91.5 KB · Views: 248
  • 20170405_201833.jpg
    20170405_201833.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 358
  • 20170405_202539a.jpg
    20170405_202539a.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 338
  • 20170405_202602a.jpg
    20170405_202602a.jpg
    90.5 KB · Views: 334
I just bought a piece of 4130 tube 6 feet long. I'm going to thread a piece for me to repair my badly repaired tube. I will have enough left over I can thread a second tube. Bob

It appears I'm not the first to have this problem, but this other thread does not answer my questions:

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/monarch-lathes/monarch-drawbar-thread-replacement-302953/

What is shown in this thread is probably a repair of the problem you have now.

I have repaired several over the years, including cut downs and extending to make it work on the machine at hand.

I prefer to put the male threads on the existing draw tube and make a short section an inch and a half long with internal threads all the way through.