What's new
What's new

yet another 10EE controller problem

alterfurz

Plastic
Folks,

I'm brand new to the board and am quite interested in learning about machine work of all sorts. I'm an electrical engineer specializing in electronics (aerospace related) and am trying to help a good friend get his 10EE lathe running. The controller has two (C16J) thyratrons as well as one C3J thyratron. Symptoms are that the controller seems to be operating more or less normally upon power up until the control lever is moved into either the forward or reverse position. If the speed control is set to minimum, nothing untoward will happen, but if the speed control is advanced slowly, a very loud buzzing and vibrating sound occurs. The spindle will attempt to rotate, but only a few degrees. Since we live about a thousand miles apart, I'm forced into a sort of long distance troubleshooting routine and could use a little help with this. So far, we've replaced one of the C16J's since it was rattling somewhat when shaken and was not igniting. At this point, I speculate a short of some sort in the wiring, but am having a bit of trouble in verifying this as well as tracking the basic problem down. Motor series and shunt fields appear to be ok as well as the various connections to the thyratrons. Everywhere I've had my friend check seems to be in fairly good shape. We've measured voltages in the field control section, reference voltage section as well as the phase shift section...based on what little I know about these particular controllers, the voltage measurements seem to be about right...or at least not catastrophic. I certainly would appreciate any suggestions you folks might have in the way of ruling out various sections of the controller or other troubleshooting tips you might want to offer.

Thanks,
JR

Can we assume you mean the spindle turns at minimum speed? Or does it stay motionless until turned up?