What's new
What's new

pls, something about excel programing for osp ?

deadlykitten

Banned
hello :) does somebody uses excel to program the cnc ? or something like that ?

i think there is something, but so far i have no experience with this ...

hello :) does somebody uses excel to program the cnc ? or something like that ?

i think there is something, but so far i have no experience with this ...

.never mind okuma ?? i have no ideal what that even is
are you talking microsoft excel ? and what is osp ?
microsoft excel can do math. calculating bolt hole circle even different sizes and starting hole at a different angle, cutting slots, cutting circles where lead in and load out and circle center not X0 Y0....... excel can calculate stuff easily
not the fastest to setup but it can recalculate a lot of math fast

Excel can do a lot of things once you learn some tricks. I use a series of Excel "calc" sheets I created that do commonly used calculations. I've many times used it as a database (I have one with links to certain PM threads) and it certainly can do work to assist CNC entry. The trick is to create templates that can be reused for similar jobs.

This article mentions OUTPUTTING data from the control to Excel but nothing about using it for input. It should be possible but would likely involve some tricky formatting in Excel and using many of the functions including CONCATENATE which merges text from multiple columns.

Hidden CNC Control Functions | Okuma

I have used Excel to generate complicated tool paths with G code. Generate the path mathematically or whatever, then concatenate the step information with G0, feeds, speeds and such. Output the file as a text file which G code can read. I've done spirals, sine waves, oblate spirals and such.

Tom

please guys, some examples / files ? kindly !

excel files i have require knowing how excel uses formulas and being able to create formulas in excel. not 100% ability to create gcode without understanding excel.