What's new
What's new

Seeking opinions on an HMC - Okuma MA600HB

kuraki556

Cast Iron
I'm in the market for a used 630mm HMC. I'm going to be looking at a 2010 Okuma MA600HB. I have no experience with Okuma machines, other than I believe they're reasonably high quality machines based on word of mouth, and on paper, this machine is exactly what I'm looking for. That said, I'm wondering if anyone has any particular comments about this model, such as chip management/evacuation issues, whether the tool changer is stable or if recovery is a PITA, or any other quirks.

Thanks.

I'm in the market for a used 630mm HMC. I'm going to be looking at a 2010 Okuma MA600HB. I have no experience with Okuma machines, other than I believe they're reasonably high quality machines based on word of mouth, and on paper, this machine is exactly what I'm looking for. That said, I'm wondering if anyone has any particular comments about this model, such as chip management/evacuation issues, whether the tool changer is stable or if recovery is a PITA, or any other quirks.

Thanks.

STAY AWAY.. We have one and it is a dog.. Runs about 50% of the time, down for the rest due to repairs.

STAY AWAY.. We have one and it is a dog.. Runs about 50% of the time, down for the rest due to repairs.
Can you give more details as to what machine you have, how old, what applications you are using it in? I have never heard of an Okuma of any flavor being a that bad of a dog. Some of the olf O & H's were a little finicky (weren't Okuma until they were bought by Okuma.), but still not that bad.

Thanks.