What's new
What's new

Ammo Press Automation

doloho7907

Plastic
I am a hobbyist craftsman and ammunition reloader and hoping this is the right place to ask questions and get some help. I am interested in building an automated ammunition press capable of loading multiple calibers and am seeking some advice. I have a background in woodworking and computer programming, but am a novice with metal work and machine automation. No, I don't need to mass produce ammunition, but am attempting this to both satisfy my desire to build and to learn. I realize that this is a very ambitious project and am ok with failing but not ok with not trying. If you're still with me on this and have some tips, below is the design I have in mind. Ideally, I am looking for suggestions on how to build, design, and common machines and parts that I could repurposed for this build.

Here is an example commercial grade product that does what I am ultimately trying to do, but I have a few differences I would like to build YouTube. Side note, this product even used sells for way outside of what I can afford.

Step one of my build is to create a press that simply goes up and down with the capability of setting stroke length (which may not be possible as mentioned in the "third part" below) and speed. It needs to be able to apply pressure similar to a human pressing down on a lever of a single stage hand loader press. The press would be attached to a "tool head" which essentially just has threaded holes at each station to receive the various reloading dies and sensor checks. Not a requirement, but it'd be nice if the tool head could be disconnected from the press so that different tool heads with different calibers could be swapped in. Any advice on design of this system or possibly a common existing machine I could recycle and repurposed for this?