What's new
What's new

Automation

KBW

Cast Iron
Any one with some form of automation / robot attendant to machine experience, you would like to share?

We have a good candidate for robot pick, load - lathe job that could lend it's self to automation, with two lathe running one end the majority of machine work, feeding one machine handling a quick bore, threading op.

A year or so ago there was a show on Discovery or TLC that showed automation in the Beratta factory. Anyone remember this or maybe a link to where I can download all or some of it.

Thanks.

I work in a shop with ~500 industrial* robots. 6 axis, fairly big models that can handle 250lbs of end effector.

The robot runs a program that you 'teach' it, then works like other automation, you have to develop digital interlocks with the other tooling that it interfaces with**, usually a good idea to have a PLC in there so you can troubleshoot online. HMI and safety stuff is going to be a significant part of the control system. You need an end effector, usually some sort of gripper for a material handling robot that can be shop-built or based on bought pieces from DeStaco (air-operated gruppo) or Norgren Automotive.

* as opposed to residential robots ;)

** IOW don't call the robot program to enter a turning center unless the door-open limit switch is made and spindle speed is at zero :D

There are more books on the subject than you can read in one lifetime ... abebooks.com & alibris.com both have a good selection. I just looked at both sites & books are available starting at $1.00.

As Matt said, a PLC makes life easier ... as long as you have a strong background in PLC function/programming ... lots of books on that as well. One of the best basic books IMO is Introduction to Programmable Logic Controllers (ISBN 9780827378667), although it isn't cheap ... my copy cost almost $10:rolleyes: