What's new
What's new

Automation newbie question, I am more of a CAD guy

Neil

Hot Rolled
Dear Forum,
Who are the top 3 suppliers of the vibrating boles, tracks and belts with pulleys I have seen in other factories? I am sure some of it is off the shelf right? I need to design a simple machine that inserts one part into another, plastic, friction fit. Low forces needed and it needs to be a step above a guy with a pair of special pliers doing it. I figure once I see what is out there and standard I can go from there. This is along the line of those nice allen key assembled frameworks that you can use to build machines. Just want to limit customization as much as possible. There is probably a feedback loop in there too, so the top suppliers for that stuff too.
I guess is there a site like McMaster Carr that is all automation components? Thank you so much. I am willing to learn ladder logic to do this (I guess a PLC will be needed) but I have never built anything like this before and want to keep it simple simple simple. Thoughts?

Suggest You educate Yourself.

No matter what anything like that will be 10.000$ or multiples thereof, ..
and there are endless critical-path issues.

Load, yerk, positioning, tolerance, lifetime, lots of stuff.

Your expecttions are probably wrong, as is Your expected budget.

Many of us are experts in motion control, and could do such assemblies in 2-4 ways in 10 minutes.
No-one will do Your work for You for free when You think it´s worth less than 100$ vs 8000 $.

@hanermo