What's new
What's new

Fascinating automation video

watched one where they were building engines in Europe . Wish I could remember where I found it . Would like to watch again. It was on a level that I couldn’t imagine at the time.

I know, its crazy huh. Can you imagine trying to coordinate the "project" that would be getting one of those lines engineered? Let alone, running! :eek:

The engineering, especially the precise modeling that must have been required, is tough to comprehend. As an engineer, I work on some pretty cool/advanced stuff, but that was definitely impressive. We build some of the most complex defense systems on the planet, and our 'factory' looks like an asian shoe factory compared to that.

The comment about the places humans interact was a good one. I mean after designing and automating all that, WTF is the point in leaving a human in the loop anywhere? Just finish it up - then turn on the power, turn off the lights, dump raw materials in one end and get shit out the other.

Honestly, fairly standard stuff in that video. Nothing you wouldn't see in about any automotive factory or in many Tier 1 suppliers.

I am 100% sure you are correct. But, a lot of us have not seen it. I mean sure, everybody has seen the car traveling down the "assembly line".
But, there was stuff in that video I have been pondering for 30 years. Specifically: how do they get these windings in there so damn perfect?!
And, how do they sew all this up so damn perfect? That has got to be one of the most expensive sewing machines on the planet.
Is that thing bespoke for that particular motor? Or, is that off the shelf stuff from automation direct?
And, the number of very application specific machined parts is kind of astronomical.
Anybody worried that automation is going to kill CNC machinist careers needs to watch that video. So many parts!

Automation is a whole new world for me is all. And, that video kinda blew me away a little bit.