What's new
What's new

Introduction and question

MailleMas

Plastic
Hi All,
I'm a machinist by trade living in Canada. I have yet to write my last tests for journeyman, but have all my hours complete. I've only found this site recently and have found it chock full of great info! On to the question:

Myself and three friends have started a manufacturing facility. Some of the older machines we have I would like to convert from mechanical (cam-shaft) driven to some variety of computer control. The cams actuate mechanisms to handle wire, and both timing and displacement need to be consistent, accurate and independently adjustable. At the moment the two camshafts are driven by a single 1/4hp motor. I was considering using a screw drive (or linear motor) on each of the cam linkages to replace the camshaft, tho small solenoids or small air rams also could be used if the control is much easier and cheaper. The max displacement of any linkage unders 1/2".

If I could hear some thoughts on what type of controllers I should start researching, I'd be thrilled. My main problem is I have no real idea where I should start looking. Is this a job for a CNC type controller or more in the realm of PLC, or some other option I haven't heard of?

Any other info you might find helpful I'd be happy to give.

Hi All,
I'm a machinist by trade living in Canada. I have yet to write my last tests for journeyman, but have all my hours complete. I've only found this site recently and have found it chock full of great info! On to the question: