What's new
What's new

Order of Magnitude for Operational Cost of Robotic Weld Cell

Johnny SolidWorks

Hot Rolled
I posted this on one of the Industrial Robotics forums I'm a member of, but it's not real active over there, and I haven't gotten any input. I also asked my Fanuc Distributor, and haven't heard back from him (and will take it with a grain of salt when I do anyway.)

Hey gang, trying to wrap my head around total cost of ownership for a robotic weld cell, and I need some help.

For those of you who have experience with them, what's the actual cost per 8 hours for a typical robotic MIG weld cell, including consumables (wire and gas) with a welder running ~65% of the time? I'm not trying to get to the penny (although I am being specific on purpose) but would like to get a decent idea if possible. Order of magnitude (are we talking $500 per 8 hours, or $2,500 per 8 hours?)

Thanks All!

For the curious: I'm an Automation Engineer looking at ROI on a weld cell for a customer who's a friend, but haven't ever run a weld cell in production.

I run two cells,
The labour is the biggest expense, obviously dependent on weld size, type and length.

For quoting I work on 400mm per min weld speed, gas at 15 to 20 Lpm and wire obviously depends on weld size.

Try the Fronius calculator
WeldWizard

Or Miller
MIG Solid-Core Welding Calculator | MillerWelds

The rest of the costs are standard, rent, capital cost, electricity is pretty low the robots run on less than 15 amps and the welders will be modern inverter types - efficient.

If you know your wire speed and gas flow rates this should not be hard to approximate, 65% is either long welds or a pretty good cycle rate though. Gas wise, best about about anouther secound for pre and post flow and it should get you pretty dang accurate for a mig, for tig you obviously need to factor in more post flow time.