What's new
What's new

Robot ignorance, have some questions

macgyver

Stainless
My background is cnc routers mostly with experience with programming and setting up 5 axis machines as well.

I have had an idea to put a router spindle on a robot for awhile but really have no idea how robots are programmed and set up. My main question; is there a cam software that I could use to program one like a router or mill?

Are there certain brands or controls of robots that would make this easier to accomplish?

I am mainly thinking about it as it seems there are used machines on the market that are a much lower asking price than say a 5 axis router and they would also be much less expensive to move and get in the shop.

Maybe this should be the highest concern, but what kind of tolerance or accuracy should I expect to get from a machine that is in good condition?

I ran across an add for one 1.5 hrs away for pretty cheap that got me thinking about it again.

Thanks for any help,
Jason

We are doing this now for a customer using a Fanuc robot w/15kW 20,000 rpm spindle. They selected a software CAM package that takes care of translating from part geometry to robot code. We are not yet that familiar with it but will be soon.