What's new
What's new

Arduino based PLC

MAC7988

Plastic
Hello everyone,

I need to come up with a method to control a lift station and 3 conveyors.

Controls newbie here.

As my budget is tight I want to use an M-duino(arduino based plc) which is easy to wire and use.

Please take a look at all the things is have put together so far. Any advise would be very helpful.
Also If someone can help me program it I would be forever greatful.

Update your browser to use Google Drive - Google Drive Help

Attachments

• lift station image.jpg
    lift station image.jpg
    8.5 KB · Views: 223
Looks like a pretty basic over/under conveyor with an elevator. Are you looking for suggestions on what sensors you will need? Type of sensors? Actual operation?

Visualize the operation, and at every step in the process, ask yourself how the PLC will know if it is OK to proceed with the process or not, or how you will make those determinations.

If you want help with the programming, get working on a flowchart to give to a programmer. This will serve the purpose of forcing you to think through the operation (so they don't have to) as well as give you something to send back and forth to them.

Honestly, if you can come up with a good flowchart, you can probably find a programmer online at one of the gig sites to do the program for you for about $50.

What's this for? And why are you the guy doing the programming if you don't know anything about programming?

I think that by the time you invest in the Arduino hardware with appropriate relays to operate actuators at rated voltages and currents, piece it all together and then work through a program (that I assume some poor slob in the future will need to maintain) . . . you would be miles ahead just buying a CLICK PLC from Automation Direct.