What's new
What's new

Sensor for distance/position and how to use with 6 axis robot

rollerman13

Plastic
Hello All,

I have currently acquired a 2004 Haas SL40-T lathe and a 2005 Fanuc R2000iA 210F with R-J3iB Controller.

These machines will (hopefully) work in unison - machine load and unload.

I am fairly new to robotics and integration with CNC Machine tools, so this will be a learning experience for me. I am quite excited.

I am wondering if any of you can comment on if using a sensor to calculate distance/position would be a reasonable idea to help the robot place the blank (round stock - of differing lengths)correctly in the "Z" direction of the jaws/chuck? Since the length of the stock will be changing frequently, I was thinking this perhaps might be the best way to ensure the robot moves the round stock blank to the correct Z axial place prior to initiating the chuck to close. I am hoping this is a better/simpler way that may not involve altering a program or movement with each change of length of the round stock?
the general sequence might look like this:
- robot picks up round stock blank
- robot moves round stock blank towards/into range of sensor
- sensor picks up distance from round stock blank and sends to ______ (robot controller?, Cnc controller, aux computer/PLC - I hope not...)
- robot now knows how far to move the round stock in towards the chuck to ensure proper successful loading of the machine
I envision the actual process may look like this (not sure if that is what is actually happening in the video): YouTube

Interested in your thoughts and an extra thanks for any of you who may be able to point me in the direction of some detailed supporting documentation that may help in this integration between the two machines. If you like a better way to accomplish the above task. Please let me know.

Thanks as usual for your help and expertise. Looking forward to this project.

Regards,

Garrett