What's new
What's new

Temperature of part feed back to fanuc control

imachine909

Cast Iron
I have no experience with anything like this. But want I am wanting some input on is how hard it would be to wire two thermocouples that are checking the part temperature at tool change and giving feed back to the machine. Then having the machine change the scale factor of the program before running next tool. This control is a fanuc 30i Model B on a vertical OKK mill.

Check with Omega Temperature. Thermocouples are durable and I have also used RTD's which need lots of physical protection. If the material you are machining can be viewed in infrared without too much reflection, then non contact temperature measurements would be possible. The instruments are best bought ready to use and most have capability for computer interface. I can't help with the software but 8th graders could help ya.

thick parts are slow to change from temperature. tooling usually effected first, then thinner sections of the part the coolant is touching. many times i have seen only one end of a big part go down from cooler coolant.
cnc machines often has heaters and or circulating oil and temperature sensors on slide sections, ball screw nuts, spindle temp. in my experience you never 100% compensate for temperature. many a time like daily i see spindle warmup effecting tool tip/end position if its running more than 3 minutes at a time. spindle heat works its way down the tool holder but obviously coolant splashing effects things too
for example on a electric motor usually one end of motor is hotter so it rises uneven and calculations of shaft height and leaning becomes complicated

Getting the data into the controller will require conversion.
If the controller has analog inputs you will need signal conditioning unless they are already set up for your measuring technology.
If the controller does not have analog you will need to develop a communications protocol. Figure out how to talk to the machine.