What's new
What's new

Vacuum Lifter Automation

teachme

Aluminum
I'm designing a simple automated vacuum lifter, from a converted 3D printer.

The application: this only requires one movement on the Z axis. The manifold needs to move down, activate air (picking up parts), move back up, and release the parts onto a placed tray.

I have little experience with the electronic side of things.

I need to program and coordinate the pneumatics with the Z travels/timing, activation, etc.

EX:
The manifold moves down the Z axis... how do I set up the pneumatic part to activate. Do I need a solenoid valve and how I would integrate something like that, with the rest of the program/setup?
Most likely a solenoid doesn't use G-code.

Is your plan to run this from a CNC machine or a stand alone?

How much of the 3D printer do you plan on using such as the controller and the axis drivers?

Normally for an automation project, you would use a PLC to do the automation logic and control and use a couple of machine M codes to act as interlocks for communication between the CNC and the automation. Typical interface would be Start automation part handling coming from the CNC control to the automation PLC. A signal from automation PLC to CNC would be a Part Handling Complete signal. You could add a second signal of the automation PLC to report a Fault condition.

Not sure exactly what you want to accomplish but if it is for actual production type application you should probably utilize a method of using prox sensors at each end of motion travel. This allows the PLC to know exactly what the status of the automation is at any point in time. It also makes error detction and handling simpler.