Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by markz528 View Post
    I don't know why I try to help with these types of issues on this board. I tried some years ago and got the same type of attitude.

All I have to say is that I make a darn good living solving motor, VFD application and VFD installation issues all over the world. I don't know everything, but I have very strong contacts at most of the large Automation vendors that have taught me well and give me guidance when needed.

This response is quite unfortunate.

There is no reason the VFD would not work in this application properly set up.
    Mark, don't stop posting because of the ignorance of others on the internet - it is guaranteed that you will find a broad range of opinions that are not based on fact or real life experience. Like you, I make my living at deploying VFD / ACVector / ACServo drive technology. At last count, my company has over 5000 drives applied since 1995 most of which are in motion applications with nearly 100% of them operable at full torque at zero speed while holding precise position up to 300HP.

I am fond of Martin Luther quotes and this thread has reminded me of two of my favorites:

"Are you ignorant of what it means to be ignorant?"
    and my all time favorite . . .

"Perhaps you want me to die of unrelieved boredom while you keep on talking"
    . . . or in the case of this forum "keep on typing"

Last edited by motion guru; 03-07-2018 at 12:49 PM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I too was curious as to the ability to run VFD's and motors down to zero speed and have full torque. People here like Motion told me it wasn't just possible, but standard practice on many things. I ended up with a 3hp Black Max inverter motor, Invertek VFD with encoder feedback and the piece of equipment performs beautifully down to zero speed.