What's new
What's new

Back Plates for Schaublin 102 available?

TheOldCar

Stainless
Anyone making generic chuck back plates? On ebay there are some new ones made for a 70, and a couple of used ones for a 102 but I'm struggling to find anything else.
Niels Machines didn't have one when I last looked.

Last edited:
I am new to machining but I believe the EMCO MAXIMAT COMPACT use the same backplate as the Schaublin 102 and that is often referenced as W20. Am I wrong?
I am also looking for a new large extra backplate for my EMCO..

I just realized my 102 spindle is the uncommon (I think) bigger size. Not W20 or W25. It’s a 5c spindle with M57.6x3.00 threads. Looks like I’ll need to make my own backplate.

I just realized my 102 spindle is the uncommon (I think) bigger size. Not W20 or W25. It’s a 5c spindle with M57.6x3.00 threads. Looks like I’ll need to make my own backplate.

Hello!
I am surprised by your post; I did not know Schaublin spindles existed in that dimension.
My EMCO MAXIMAT COMPACT M3100 mark2 (from the Austria and 60s) uses W20 collets as most Schaublins 102.
My spindles dimensions are as follow:
* spindle width 40mm
* spindle length flat without thread, to tighten the backplate on : about 10mm
* spindle length with a thread, to bolt the chuck's backplate on : about 28mm
* spindle thread pitch : 4.1mm (one thread every 4.1 mm, it's a very big thread)
* spindle internal bore to pass a shaft/collet inside: 20mm

I am also running into difficulties to find an already bored backplate, as that thread pitch seems a bit uncommon as well.

Have you tried contacting a Schaublin service center?

I was assuming it was same dimensions as the F27 spindle? I found an obscure clue after lots of searching that implied it uses the 57.6x3.00 thread. I guess F27 is just a larger type of collet?