What's new
What's new

Gornati Leopard lathe - any thoughts/experience?

JasonPAtkins

Hot Rolled
Hi folks! I don't know if this is in the right forum, as the lathe in question is European but I don't have any idea if it's "toolroom" or not. The lathe in question is a Gornati Leopard 1 lathe out of Italy. 12" x 30"ish The only info I can find is here: Gornati. One thing I like, the spindle through the bore looks like at least 2", which I think is pretty big for this size of lathe? (I'm new to machining, sorry if any of these are dumb questions/assumptions.)

It's a little rusty, but I think clean-upable. All I know is what's written on it. It's a gear head, and the writing on the front looks like it can thread fractional, metric, and acme(?) It's in Italian, so I'm doing my best to interpret.

I'm in West Africa, the lathe made it's way down from Europe as a donation to a mechanical school, which now isn't going to happen, so they're selling the lathe. It's been sitting for two years, but I think the ways are cleanable.

Is it worth the effort if the price is right? They want $1600, but I think we can do a bit better. (Equipment prices are a LOT higher here than I'm used to back home near Detroit where a new factory closes every month.)

Anyway, anyone know this brand? Is this going to be nicer than a grizzly lathe? Is it mid-level, or was this a pretty nice one? It's heavy, a big cast body.

Thanks!

I'm sorry I don't know anything about the manufacturer of the lathe, but as always, it's interesting to see/hear about more machine makers. I hope someone replies to you with some knowledge about the maker.