What's new
What's new

Graziano 180 questions and English manual?

ztugdriver

Plastic
Hello everyone I just a got a SAG 180 and got her dialed in but Im new to lathe work and can't read Italian. I was able to locate the manuals for both the SAG 180 and 14 but they are vague at best to describe the parts and functions. Ive managed to turn a 5/8"-11 threads just messing around trying to figure out all of the controls.

My questions are does anyone have an English version of the manual for a SAG 180? Id like to know what the 5 position lever on the bottom right of the carriage is for. It sits on the feed rod. I also would like to know what the cam lever under the apron hand wheel is for. It has a cam lever and a thumb wheel. It doesn't say how to utilize the carriage stops in the manual but I have read on this forum that there are stops and adjustments.

If anyone has the time and knowledge and would like to share I'm all ears. I am willing to call and speak over the phone as this typing back and forth gets a bit irritating.

I really like doing lathe work and can't wait to get this thing figured out so thanks in advance for your help.

The five position lever on the feed rod is to set Z axis automatic feed stops. The "cam" lever under the feed direction selector is to set the resistance that the auto feed will kick out at, hence the adjustable spring. Lower setting is for heavier DOC and upper for lighter DOC.
I have the manual but I think it can be found somewhere on line. It would be a lot to scan.

Thank you for the reply. One more question why the 5 positions? I see the stops under the bed but probably a dumb question if I stared at it long enough.

Also thank you for the manuals and wow what an archive!

The Graziano could be used as a semi production machine. The five position stops could be set up so that a repetitive job would require less measuring. Not a turret lathe, but faster than measuring Z axis distances for every part.