What's new
What's new

Graziano SAG14 clutch drag

RockSolidHugo

Plastic
Hi guys!!

This is my firts post here, since I'm new to machining.
Bought a old neglected SAG14 and the clutch would drag so I could only change gears with motor off.
Took the clutch appart and found some broken springs between the discs

20201031_171753[1].jpg

20201102_150210[1].jpg

20201102_150226[1].jpg

Local company wants good money for 500 springs when the lathe uses only 42
Anyone here ever experienced something similar? How did you work it in the end?

Last edited:
Any evidence of a name on the clutch?

Keith Price down here possibly has those bits, as he sells plates and complete clutches, but I wouldn't expect cheap! I got several dozen non-critical small beehive style compression springs for a few bucks from alibaba a few years back, maybe that's an option.

RockSolidHugo,

A PM member Lofty wrote about his SAG 180 (very similar to the SAG 14) which had a dragging clutch with broken springs.

He bought new springs from Keith Price in Australia, but said he took the last of them.

See this thread, in particular, post # 24, 25, 27, 42, 45, 49, 52, 54, 58. Post #52 says the clutch still drags, so I am not sure what the answer is.

Bought a SAG 180

If you have one good spring, would you mind doing a drawing of it please? Or write a description e.g. wire diameter, outside diameter, overall length etc.

I would like to dismantle my Sag 14 clutch one day and I guess it will need new springs too.

It would be good to hear about any other problems and solutions you find with the clutch repair, thanks!

Peter

A few Graziano parts suppliers have been mentioned on this forum:

-A supplier of clutches and other Graziano parts (Italy): Ugo Montagano, e-mail: [email protected]

TOURS – LATHES - DREHMASCHINEN:
CMT – PADOVANI – EST TICINO – GRAZIANO – PBR – GRAZIOLI –
GORNATI – MERLI – NOSOTTI – PERNO – OMG ZANOLETTI - usw

Spare parts for Italian lathes.