What's new
What's new

Lathe won't start after move

Hello,

I've a SAG12 that I recently purchased. I'm new to machining and was lucky to pick up a the lathe for 1k. I tested everything at the buyers shop, it all worked fine no problem. It was plugged into wall threephase 380v.

I brought it to my shop and it sat for two months while I got a digital phase converter online. I initially wired it upstream of the whole lathe, I could here humming but nothing worked. I wired it directly to the motor and the motor spins fine, but I can't seem to get the chuck to spin/clutches to engage. I've been trying to figure out the electronics on my own, but I am honestly stuck at this point.

I've attached the wiring schematic. I'm trying to figure out how to test if the currect voltage is coming out of the transformer. From the diagram where should I see 24volts? Should it read 24volts on the "7" or "8" on the bottom running to the joystick or clutches? any advice on what to check or how to troubleshoot would be greatly appreciated.

We're in lockdown here in Ireland for another two months so would be great to learn a bit of machining while stuck in the house. Thanks for any replies and your time!

Attachments

• sag12 schematic vfd change .jpg
    sag12 schematic vfd change .jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 64
Dinky,

I don't know much about electrical stuff....

I have a Sag 12, so I turned on the main switch (F) and checked the voltage at '7' as you requested. It was 47 VDC. This wire actually goes to the pressure switch on the transmission, but I believe the same voltage is used for the clutches.

One of this forums members is optoeng (Paul). He has a Sag 12 but doesn't have three phase power, so he fitted a VFD to power the motor, pretty much what you are trying to do (I think).

Here is what he wrote: