What's new
What's new

New (novice) owner of Schaublin 102-VM with a couple of questions

Ross M

Plastic
Hi all,

I'm the new owner of a Schaublin 102-VM (1953 model) which I've inherited. It seems to be in good condition and is very complete with many accessories, including a vertical milling attachment.

lathe.jpg

I'm a novice to lathe work so my plan is to just get to grips with it and see where I go from there - I would imagine that any projects I do will be on the smaller scale for the foreseeable future.

I'm just in the process of cleaning it up, changing it's oils and generally getting to know it and now have a couple of questions that I hope others on this group may be able to help me with.

The first relates to the coolant bath - is there an easy way of pulling the bath out of the stand's right hand leg so that I can empty it and give it a clean-up? As far as I can tell, I'd have to disconnect the flow pipe from the the top of the motor and an extension piece that is on the return pipe which should then allow me to pull the bath out a little although the motor will still be connected to the power.

It seems a bit of a cumbersome process and I wondered if I'm just missing something really obvious?

The second question I have relates to any recommendations for converting my single phase supply to 3 phase. I've spoken briefly to Dave at Drives Direct (all links seem to lead to his website!) and by the sounds of it a digital phase converter is the way to go but there are a couple of options I have on this....

1. a 'plug and play' solution which uses a more expensive, higher capacity converter that would allow me to just plug the lathe into a 3 phase socket. This would let me utilise the lathe's inbuilt controls, and the auxiliary drive and coolant motors would also work in the original way intended. I'd also be able to run other 3 phase machines from the same converter in the future should I need to (one at a time though).