What's new
What's new

New Okuma LS coming home!

CaryC

Aluminum
New Okuma LS, well new to me!

This is a 21x50 with a 10hp motor made in 1966. From what I could tell everything is in great condition, ways look good, everything is tight and holds good tolerances. all of the the handles turn smooth with no play. Runs super quiet.
Okuma 1.jpg

It looks like someone did a quick overspray years ago that is now starting to peel. I think I can remove this with a scrubbing pad and some elbow grease. The original paint looks good just the normal wear that you would see over time.
Okuma 4.jpg

My main issue is power. I have 220 single phase with a total of 55A available. When the lathe kicks on it draws about 38A (Running 3-phase)for a second or two then goes down to about 6-8A. I am a home hobbyist, so most likely this would be the only machine running at a time...but the air compressor (18A) might kick on or maybe my son turns on the wood lathe.

From what I have researched I have a few options...
1. a 20hp VFD(expensive). I wonder if I could get away with a 10HP-15HP VFD with a slow start???
2. Change to a 5hp or 7.5hp Motor and 10-15hp VFD
3. Change to a single phase 5hp-7.5hp.

Thoughts???

Thanks!

My lathe came with a 4 Kw motor 575 three phase. I changed to a 3hp single phase 220 volt motor and couldn't be happier. Most "hobby" lathe cuts are maybe a horsepower at most so if you can get a single phase motor to fit your machine you should be fine.

My lathe came with a 4 Kw motor 575 three phase. I changed to a 3hp single phase 220 volt motor and couldn't be happier. Most "hobby" lathe cuts are maybe a horsepower at most so if you can get a single phase motor to fit your machine you should be fine.

Thank for the feedback!

Are you running the same machine?

Looks like I am going to change it to a 5hp 3-phase motor with a VFD.

Any recommendations on the Motor/VFD brands?