What's new
What's new

New owner of Schaublin 102 with greased headstock bearings.

Hi. I'm new to Practical Machinist. I joined because looking at other threads about Schaublin lathes, the answers seem to be from people who really know what they are talking about, not just general answers,so I hope you can help with some advice.
I have just bought a Schaublin 102 (1969, headstock without back-gear, on a steel cabinet stand, lever opertated W20 collets)which genuinely seems to have had very little use, but with it came a service schedule from a previous owner which showed a photo with the 'grease' points on the headstock marked, and instructions to grease once every 6 months.I have taken out the 'grease' nipples, and sure enough there is grease inside,not oil as per the service schedule I can find on the internet.
Should a 102 of this age be oiled or greased? If the answer is oil, I will have to clean the grease out of the bearings and see what happens. I am hoping that it has been used so little that there won't have been damage of course (!). The instructions for removal of the spindle in the pdf instruction manual I can find on the internet seem straightforward, althought the part numbers are different (it is for a W25 spindle though). Is it as easy as it sounds?
More importantly, is it as easy to put back together! I am especially thinking of the tolerences for radial play and end play. Will dismantling and cleaning inevitable mess these up, or should it go back together ok, assuming the bearings are alright?
How and where should the play be measured? On the spindle nose? By manually pushing/pulling the spindle while stationary? With the lathe running? Or is there a certain procedure to follow?
Many thanks.

Hi Phil

I know the 102-80 quite well. I also changed bearings on W20 and W25 Headstocks.
I discussed the question oil vs grease a lot with various people.

The conclusion for me is that you use special modern grease like the ones from Kluber.