What's new
What's new

Schaublin 150 vs Colchester Master vs3250

Kobusvn

Plastic
Hi all,

I am utterly indecisive as I have the opportunity to get an out of the box new Colchester Master Vs 3250 with all the bells and whistles or a Schaublin 150 that is in a very good shape. Although I know that the Schaublin is probably a better buy in terms of quality build etc, I cannot decide an will value your input. I cannot really decide...

What are you using it for?

Work? Hobby? If work, what kind? Heavy dirty turning, or fairly lightweight and relatively 'clean' work?

I worked in a shop that had both. May still have both.

I'd be hard pressed to not glom on to the Schaublin for MY purposes, a 150 or 135 would be about the ultimate 'basement' lathe, but if I was buying as a sole general purpose lathe, for a maintenance shop or that ilk, like as not the capacity of the Colchester would serve you better, spindle bore, swing, and distance between centers.

They are not very directly comparable, as far as their niche in the overall 'ecology' goes.

I mainly only do hobby work on my lathes, restoration and parts on old motorbikes and the odd tooling etc that I need from time to time.

I have my heart on the Schaublin and I think that it might prove to be a better long term investment. The biggest jobs that I would turn on it would probably be more chuck backplates... I rarely ey ever have anything longer than 400mm in the machine so the length of the bed is not much of a concern to me.

Thanks for your comments!

Saw the title on this and frankly thought it was posted as a joke....

150, don't blink of someone else will have it!

By the by, isn't that Colchester made in Asia now?
Cheers Ross

I mainly only do hobby work on my lathes, restoration and parts on old motorbikes and the odd tooling etc that I need from time to time.