What's new
What's new

shaublin 160 tailstock height adjust tapper repair

Stonefox

Plastic
I was checking my tailstock alignment and it was 0.36 mm low. My Shaublin 160 tailstock (shaublin 160-67 starwheel) height adjustment is made by adjusting a tapper. Unfortunately, the tapper does not not seem to be working properly. This is the first time I have used this adjustment since I bought this old machine second-hand some years ago.

I turned the cap screw at the back of the tapper and it moved a little but then just rotates and the tapper does not move. It may be threaded. Now when I turn it in any direction it does not move.
I am a novice and have had no mechanical training at all, I was in the medical field before I retired. What I am trying to say is I do not know how to separate the tapered parts to check them. Any help would be appreciated.

If anyone has the drawings/manual it would also be greatly appreciated.

I believe the Shaublin 150 and 160 have the same type of tailstock.

adjusting screw.jpg

Wow a 160
That adjusting screw looks tiny to me and offset to one side a lot
This slide sees very little use so it gets stuck real easy
I would take it apart and see whats wrong
Probably a stripped thread
You can download several manuals on that French website
Here is a page with links to several manuals from that french forum
Schaublin 160
Lots of other manuals available there

Peter

Thanks for the reply Peter.
I downloaded the French manuals. I do not speak French but these are the only manuals I have ever seen for my machine, many thanks. Tried to find them for years.
It looks like mine is the 1964 version.
As for taking it apart, I agree. I just do not know how to. It only has that one cap screw and if that is stripped how do I separate the slide? I would like some ideas on how this is achieved please.

If you look at the "service instructions'