What's new
What's new

Adding pictures to resume?

PlasmaOnTheBrain

Cast Iron
Hi all,
I'm looking for advise from you shop owner types, Would you look at pictures included with a resume?
I want to leave the shop I'm currently in because its pretty much heading down the drain. I don't feel like words on paper really describes what I can actually do and pictures of work I've done would do it much better but I don't know if that's good form or not...
I'm a welder and I've been at my current job for about 11 years, never went to any school past a 6 month trade school and have self taught most of my welding skills/knowledge.
Thank you all for your time
Clif

Hell no to pictures. Back when working for the man as a supervisor without the title anytime I got a resume with pictures I passed them around for a laugh. I once got a resume from a guy who had his picture taken by every machine he claimed to know how to operate, down to a belt sander. After we all had a good laugh his resume hit the round file.

I would agree on hell no. However, I could see maybe adding a link to a web page with pictures of what you've done. But, a professional looking web page. No pictures of your dog or your kids eating birthday cake.

I am not an owner. I do, however, do interviews for candidates for my team. I recently got a resume with a headshot. I have never seen such a thing, and it baffled me. According to my German teammate, that's the norm over there, every resume has a professional headshot. Here in America, I would say definitely no, do not do that. Perhaps bring some pictures of your work with you if you land an interview, but definitely not on the resume. The resume should be short, sweet, and limited to relevant work experience (If you're applying for a job as a fabricator, don't include your time working at McDonald's 4 years ago).