What's new
What's new

Advice for Interview and Entry into Sheetmetal Shop

96Mustang460cid

Aluminum
Next week, I'm interviewing for a production and scheduling manager role at a local sheet metal shop. The owner is interested in introducing more accountability and efficiency into the shop. The owner acknowledges he's done a poor job of fulfilling the production manager role when it vacated a couple years ago. While I openly admit my lack of sheet metal fab and machine shop working knowledge, I am decent at providing resources to the team so they can meet and exceed the expectations and finding efficiencies. I also have a strong business background, which the owner desires to utilize in the future.

By degree, I'm a mechanical engineer. By professional experience, I am project management. By spare time, I'm a very strong DIY level fabricator, but am certainly not a machinist and could only build very simple items with loose specs. I strive to be more of a jack-of-all-trades, hands-on, and sensical type of engineer.

The thought of working in and learning more about this industry is incredibly exciting for me because it aligns so well with my personal interest and hobbies and I thoroughly enjoy the 'business' -- leading, growing, and helping others.

What advice or pitfalls might the collective knowledge of this group offer in this scenario? This shop has been open for 30 years. The three most used pieces of equipment in the shop are the press brake, CNC plasma, and mechanical sheer.

Thanks and have a great day!
Michael

First, don't piss people off by changing everything all at once. I joke, but not really. Explain to the boss that you need some time just to observe, see what are obvious bottlenecks, and understand the current workflow (good and bad) through the place. That includes what the owner is doing, make sure he understands that without him feeling threatened.