What's new
What's new

Advice on quoting

tcncj

Cast Iron
I'm curious how do you guys handle quotes? I'm fairly new to running my own business.

- I receive quite regularly quote requests where they ask to specify the cost for each part.
For example the customer has 15 different parts which needs to be machined. They want to know the cost of every single part.
So they can go shopping and let me make part x and make the rest of the parts somewhere cheaper.

- How do you handle customers that come straight up with "I always make my parts in China. But how much do you charge to make this? I need the parts yesterday already". And what about customer that are trying to negotiate about the quote?

When I started my business doing wrought iron work, which I loved the design work of it, it was going good. But after about a year, home depot starting stocking what they call wrought iron, it's just 1/8 x 1" flat bar twisted pockets with 1" x 14ga posts.

I would be doing a home or business quote, and after I was done doing my song and dance, people would say, what's the difference between your stuff and home depot. I learned quickly that meant, pack your shit up and get out as they have no clue what quality means they are strictly price shopping.

Did I lose a job that was legit, maybe. But I kept my head high, and now I do all alum and stainless fabrication for industrial facilities. So now, I can look back and say that my success is keeping my head high and not trying to please everyone. I want customers who want mutual relationships, not just relationships to the green stuff.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk