What's new
What's new

Anyone know shorthand here?

El Mustachio

Hot Rolled
Alright you old-timers, I know you're out there, I can here your slide-rules clicking and smell your bacon-grease-tapping-oil. Anyone here know shorthand, even long since forgotten? How much torture is it to learn? Pitman, Gregg, Tee-line; any preferences.

Keeping converstaion notes (phone, meetings, etc) has saved my ass time and time again. But either my brain is slowing down or peoples' mouths are going faster than they used to. If I don't correct my notes within a few minutes of a phone call or meeting, I may as well be looking at a china-town take out menu. I'm wondering if picking up a version of shorthand would solve my handwritting / speed problem. I don't expect it would be very simple to learn, but I'm thinking it might prove really useful if I can pick it up self taught.

Thanks in advance.

It's been a little over 50 years since I took Greg shorthand in high school. The most important thing I remember is, you don't 'hear' the conversation since you are busy getting it written down. Check into some sort of recording device and write down your notes after hanging up the phone.

It's been a little over 50 years since I took Greg shorthand in high school. The most important thing I remember is, you don't 'hear' the conversation since you are busy getting it written down. Check into some sort of recording device and write down your notes after hanging up the phone.

He lives in Washington state, so he would have to begin every conversation by asking the other party if it's OK for him to do that. Otherwise he'll be breaking the law. I wonder if it's the same restriction if he let's a computer microphone pick up the sound and then use a program like Dragon to transcribe it? I would guess that's the same thing, but I'm no expert.