What's new
What's new

Barcode Tracking system and Job Scheduling GUI for workers? Pleasee Help.

NCGrowth

Plastic
Hello everyone, a new member here. I'm an engineering grad student from NC State and i'm currently interning for a small jobshop (10 employees). We are trying to solve 2 major problems:

1) Implement an automatic job/inventory tracking system (ex: barcode/RFID) to keep better track of work orders
2) Eliminate the current paper based Manufacturing Plan & Inventory recording system by providing a GUI for machinists to easily access MOP's and QA data for a particular order.

As an intern, i'm guessing an ERP like FishBowl or JobBOSS would provide help but i want some feedback from forums like this. Can anyone guide me towards a fit solution available in today's world? Your experience and guidance is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance :)

ERP systems are a good step to business management. But they are only as useful as the data you have to input into them, and the continual monitor and maintenance of that data.

Do you have a budget for this project? One thing I have encountered with very small shops is that they do not have the budget to roll out an ERP system. Both for implementing and maintaining.

There are some low budget options for inventory and job tracking. It can be as simple as an excel database. For the machinist, if a well organized server exist, putting a computer at every work station is an easy way to get away from paper and still have access to all the informaion needed.

Can you tell us a little more about the shop? How many machines and what kind of machines? How many jobs are processed a week? What market do you manufacture for? ect.

The budget is not a problem, my company realizes the importance of having a system which would help them in keeping track of their production runs and also help in future ISO certification.