Best method to get a raise - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by atomarc View Post
    You haven't had a raise in 4 years??????

If that's true then I would guess there is nothing you can show your employer that will merit a raise. I hope the boss didn't show up with a new truck every year.

Stuart
    I've worked for bosses who treated their employees like slaves and never gave raises, regardless of performance.

I gave myself a raise: I got a professional degree and license and became self-employed.

2. Likes atomarc liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Indiana
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Dualkit View Post
    If you get raises and they don't there has to be an obvious reason why.
    Because I'll play the game and take stupid risks where others won't. No wife nor kids makes a difference.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Iíve got 17 employees. I do reviews once a year in August with raises effective Sept 1. Once in a while an employee will say he is disappointed with his increase. I always ask him what he thinks he should be making and why. If he has some logical examples and justification I get back to him with an adjusted increase. If I donít change much it means I think heís good where heís at.

Itís rare but sometimes an employee will ask for an increase midyear. Usually heís been talking to another employer or has friends he says are making x, y, or z. If heís good Iíll make an adjustment and try to keep him, if heís not that great I just let him go. I would never hold it against anyone. You are always free to ask.

How the company is doing has nothing what so ever to do with pay. We could be losing money, thatís not their fault. I have to pay the going rate if I want good people.