What's new
What's new

Can you legally hold a customers parts until they pay?

jackal

Titanium
I have a customer that is paying slower and slower. They used to pay the amount right at 65 days ( I had them on 60 days pay). They are getting slower & slower. They told me that there was a check in the mail last Thursday, and I still haven't received it. Usually, when they send it, I get it the next day.

I have a special aerator motor assembly right now and they are needing it for their customer, but I am going to tell them I have to get a check when they pick it up. I don't want the parts, just the money.:D

The check needs to be for the Aerator and any past 60 day bills.
Do I need to contact the prosecuting attorney or just a regular attorney. It might be time to file a lien. ( I want to know what is next and be ready if I have to).
This is my first year in business and I can't let them shut me down. (Drag me down with them).

I let them go for a while and they would pay $1000 to $1500 at a time. Now they owe me a couple thousand $$$.

I know the laws are different in each state, but a little advice on playing the game would help. It would be nice to keep them as a customer, but hell I can't work for free and a company that has been in business for over 60 years ought to have it together. It is starting to get me pissed.:angry::angry::angry:

Give me some of your experience/solutions that have worked for you in the past. It would be nice if it didn't get ugly, but it might be too late.

Thanks, as always,

JAckal:D

Blood. Stone. Waste of time and (more) money.

That's what comes to my mind, anyways, unless you have reason to suspect they have the ability to pay, but are just withholding.