What's new
What's new

Continuing education for a seasoned machinist.

VeeBlock

Plastic
I am a journeyman level machinist wishing to do some continuing education. I started out of high school by obtaining an Associates degree in machining/diemaking. Since then I have had lots of job experience, working up to journeyman level, as well as being a department foreman.

I don't think that pursuing a Bachelor degree in Mechanical Engineering is feasible for me, however I would like to pursue a study course or some certification to expand my knowledge and open doors to grow in other areas of manufacturing - as well as gain some credentials.

I live and work in an area that doesn't offer much in this field so it would have to be online.
What have you all seen out there that fits in with this?

I got my Bachelor's and my Master's at night while working full time. An arduous road but (for me) worth it. Barring that idea, many software, tooling, and MTB's offer all manner of educational classes both real time and online. Given the current situation, online learning looks more attractive all the time.

Never stop pushing yourself in further education. I started out with machine tool tech at athens vocational in Athens TN. Then went on with other things as time allowed, Fluid/Pneumatic technologies, Occupational Safety and Health management, Toyota Production Systems at Cleveland State, Then on to U.T. for Business Management, Tennessee Tech for Mechanical engineering. I just finished up my MBB in Six Sigma from Villanova last year at 48, on top of several language courses (Cantonese, Mandarin, Spanish, Tagalog, Visayan, Cebuano) Working on German now.