What's new
What's new

Contract work

toolsteel

Titanium
Briefly.....

I have been programming for a few years now. A while back, I was asked by the reseller of the cam software I use to teach a class one night a week. I took the gig and have enjoyed it to this point and plan on doing it for the foreseeable future. The extra $ is nice.....but to be honest....i also just enjoy getting out of the house and doing something different. Now the same guy has approached me to do some contract programming on the side.....his computer...his software.....his customer.....completely seperate from my "bread and butter" job. I will not do anything to jeapordize that. If something needs top booking.......my day time gig gets that, period.
My question is ......what sort of $ should a person charge on such a deal? There will be some tooling consulting, fixture consulting kind of work with it. 90% I will be able to do from home.....one concern I have is what happens if my program crashes the guys machine? Is it reasonable to sign some sort of contract spelling out such things? I guess I am becoming a small business and ought to start acting like one.....I am just not sure how to do that.
Parleying my skills and free time into something that might change my "employment direction" in the future is not a bad thing....just trying not to F ... it up lol.

I'm curious what would drive the price up to 2-3x normal programmer wage. Is that to make it worth your while?

I'm curious what would drive the price up to 2-3x normal programmer wage. Is that to make it worth your while?

The employer wouldn't carry the typical employee overhead such as payroll taxes, workers comp, benefits, etc. Imagine using a temp service for part time labor. They charge the employer $20/hr for an $8/hr employee and they carry the overhead.