What's new
What's new

A different sort of temp service for shops...

JaredMcLaughlin

Aluminum
I've got an idea for the esteemed (and the not so esteemed) members of this forum to criticize.

I'm a machinist who wanted to start a business but didn't want to run a machine shop. So, I help new companies understand the effects of their designs on cost (DFM) and the different processes available to them (machining, stamping, molding, powdered metals).

The other customers I want to serve are machine shop owners. The best value I can think to provide is my services as a machinist. But why not just be an employee then? Frankly, because I'd mostly have to stop doing the other work, which I enjoy and profit from. I have a better idea that I think can fit the needs of both.

I'd like to offer my services as a temporary machinist. Someone you call when you get a rush job in, or someone quits, or for whatever reason... you've got a productivity crunch. I know other folks run temp services, and I've seen a few problems with them. There's a learning curve, so it's not reasonable to call someone in for a day or two. You also don't know if you'll actually get someone in that has the right skills. The temp firms don't seem good at screening that.

What do I offer as an alternative? Myself. A relationship. I come out and get to know your shop and your process. When you need another hand, I come out and help you get parts out the door. Then I go away. When you need help again, I come back out. You get the same guy every time, who understands how you like to run your shop, and you get a chance to get comfortable with my skills. I can come out an relieve your top guys from doing the routine jobs so they can push the rush jobs or the difficult jobs out the door.