What's new
What's new

Do I have a legitimate gripe? Long rant.

Loomis

Aluminum
I work in a towboat repair facility with a reasonably small machine shop. 5 lathes, BP mill, G&L HBM, 56" VTL, Shaper and various other older machines. I have been doing fab and machine work since 1970. There is a guy in the machine shop that I have complained about for years. He has been there 21 years and I've been there 20. He has not progressed in his abilities since I have known him. I am at work at least 45 min. early every day with a machine running at starting time. He walks into the shop at starting time. Might get started a half hour later. I take my breaks in the machine shop area while he stops 15 min. early and comes back 15 min. late. He made two dowel bolts yesterday - 2 1/2" dia. about 20" long with 1 1/2 threads on each end about 5" long. Took him all day. I could have done it in less than an hour. This is his typical work ethic. It makes my blood pressure rise. The supervisor asks me how to speed him up and I say "Tell him to produce or hit the door." I have told them I don't like working with him the 40 hours I have to and I refuse to work overtime with him because he is even slower then. Yet when they need a machinist to work over they pick him. The only time I am ask is when he is on vacation. I blame management as well as him. I am only a few years from retirement and I hate to leave my job because other than this situation I love the job. I was wondering what some of you managers would do about this.

I was wondering what some of you managers would do about this.

Seems kind of irrelevant. We know what your manager will do, and it's not what you want.

Why does it bother you so much? Are you losing money (besides the OT) because of this guy? Does he affect your ability to get your work done?