What's new
What's new

easy drawing program

Alan Elzer

Plastic
I don't post much here cause I'm a beginner & old school with manual lathe & mill. But getting old making hand drawings on paper then make a part. Looking for easy drawing program to start with. Just straight lines be fine.
What drawing programs I've googled come up for sketching a person or animal...an so.
So am I searching wrong programs?
Guys keep up the good threads cause I do enjoy. Thnx Alan

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

DraftSight - looks and works like AutoCAD LT 97. Doesn't get much simpler or easier, and it's a very popular program with a lot of help online and videos on YouTube.

http://www.freebyte.com/cad/cad.htm

qcad is maybe the easiest. librecad is its sister, maybe looks a little nicer. I think they will both put out in dxf, which means most other cad programs can share files. solvespace looks like it might be fun, parametric stuff is a trip.

http://www.freebyte.com/cad/cad.htm

qcad is maybe the easiest. librecad is its sister, maybe looks a little nicer. I think they will both put out in dxf, which means most other cad programs can share files. solvespace looks like it might be fun, parametric stuff is a trip.

librecad has youtube video tutorials. its not fancy but thats actually a good thing. its relatively easy and just works
i often use it for math. draw then add dimensions. it does the math automatically

For really basic stuff Paint is probably your best choice. Every Windows comp for the last 25 or so years has it so you'll almost always be able to find it. Tinkercad is cute. For a very minimal investment in time you can be manipulating fairly complex shapes to improve your perspective and view. The main part I like is you can get near instant quotes from Shapeways for any rough sketch you make. Gives you a bit of a hint as to whether your headed in the right direction or not.