What's new
What's new

Employee attitude, what do you do?

nitrousmudbogger

Aluminum
I'm a easy to get along with boss and more and more employees think well if I can get away with that why not this. When I ask what's up I get attitude. I want to be an easy going boss so everyone is not wondering why they work for some A hole but it would be nice for them to use a little thing called common sense too and not over step their bounds. I'm new to the management roll and I have 11 people working for me. What do I do, put the fear of god to them every once in a while? I hate yelling all day, makes my day impossible

You don't have to yell. It works better if you are calm, give orders, and punish disobediance.

For example, if you are disobeyed send the malefactor home for the rest of the day without pay. Next time, GTFO and don't come back. Ranting doesn't command respect.

Some people are just stupid and malicious. "Being nice" doesn't WORK on them so do what does work or boot them out of your shop. Fire one and the rest may take heed.

Wow,

I can't believe this is the advice these guys are giving you. First if you are yelling at all, something's wrong. Most likely with the process. Less likely with the employees. Studies have shown that most employees want to do a good job, that they don't lay awake at night thinking of ways to tick-off the supervisor.

Another thing, this is not 1970. Hostile work environments don't fly anymore unless you are supervising illegals. If I were you, I would delete this post so none of your subordinates can show documented proof that you're asking how to "put the fear of god to them every once in a while."

Best Regards,
Bob