Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Oregon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Equipment Finance Tips & Tricks

Came across a question on the forum related to Equipment Finance, and differences in a rate that a finance company quotes vs. the true rate you're paying. I'll caveat by saying that my background is in finance, so I recognize some of the tricks we're all seeing from banks/brokers/etc. Hope this info helps some with upcoming purchases.

Types of Equipment Loans/Leases:
    - FMV (Fair Market Value Lease): You don't own the machine, the finance company does. Your payments are, essentially, rental payments. Makes sense if you're planning on upgrading every 2-5 years. Payments will be lower, because your payment is based on depreciation value, and not a full payoff of the purchase price. Good for cash flow, but long term equity will be lacking.

- EFA (Equipment Finance Agreement): My preferred method of financing. A $1 (can be $100 or $101 depending on the finance company) buyout at the end of the term. Amortizes similar to a traditional loan, with full payoff (outright ownership) as the end goal. Differs from other equipment finance options as there is normally no "breakfunding" language in the contract; which means you will have easily defined prepayment penalty terms (i.e. 2% after 2 years, 1% after 3 years, etc).

- Capital Lease: This is what most owners who don't ask/specify end up getting. The difference between an EFA and a Capital Lease is the breakfunding language; if you prepay you'll be subject to treasury costs from the finance company that makeup for the lost interest on the remaining balance, as well as any set penalties they have (1%, 2%, etc). If you know you'll go the full term, there is no harm in this type of contract. If you want more flexible prepay options, go with an EFA and specify your prepayment requirements up front.

Definitions: