What's new
What's new

The fight against NET30

wheelieking71

Diamond
Well, I hate NET30 terms.
I realize, I am absolutely nobody in the big-picture. But, I don't care.
I am doing my part, and standing my ground.

I had another customer today, that wanted me to run parts. At what he considers a high volume, to keep his prices down. (A whopping 36pcs)
And then, "buy them from me as he needs them". Yea, seriously. Not exactly NET30. But, not COD either.
Probably worse that NET30 when you think about it.

Now, this all went down as he was picking up parts I had already ran. I kind of knew the discussion was coming.

My reply was pretty much "I am a machinist, not a banker". To which he pretty much just couldn't understand how I could run my business that way.
Said "I could see if we were talking 10's of thousands. But, this is chump change" (kind of self derogatory actually! LOL)

I wanted to tell him, if I have no business running my business that way, he has no business ordering parts he can't afford to pay for.

But, I just shut my mouth. Took his money, gave him his parts, and said "have a nice day".

I may slit my own throat yet. Oh-well. My point: do it your way! Don't conform, or they will walk all over you.

Well, I hate NET30 terms.

NET 10 has existed since forever-ago. Also 2% 10, NET 30.

Not a damned thing wrong with COD when the job is nuisance-level. Small enough billings, I've had US GOV *request* to be put onto COD. Grossly simplified THEIR paperwork and costs.

In yet-another life, it was Consulting, not machining, but just as much a whore's game, yet 30% up-front or we didn't start.

I realize, I am absolutely nobody in the big-picture. But, I don't care.
I am doing my part, and standing my ground.
No. You matter. Your shop, your rules. One just has to cut a break to those who have proven they DO pay and DO NOT jerk you around over cancellations, late-in-the day changes, etc.

Put 'em on a formal 'good customer discount' even.