What's new
What's new

Hearing loss...

Phil in Montana

Stainless
My hearing has been going down hill for a while, the hearing outfit says its from the machining ... anyone have any luck with work comp on this type of thing?...Phil

It is a documentation item. Firefighter and police unions advise that hearing tests be done early in the career to document the loss of hearing over the course of the career, relative to other occupations.
So, IMHO, if you don't have the documentation, you have a tough row to hoe to get what you expect.

Chazsani

Sent from my G-Code editor @ 300kbs

I'm sorry for your situation, but I hope some of the younger forum members will read the thread and start taking hearing protection seriously. I've been wearing muffs since ~1990, and I'm very glad I did. Not too much degradation* over the last thirty years.

*Well, the body's gone to hell, but at least the ears still work!

I wish I could go back and undo some stupid stuff involving un-muffled go-kart engines, Detroit Diesels, and rotary swagers. I am way more careful now. My hearing is still decent at age 61, but certainly not going to get any better.

A lot of the hearing loss with age is genetic. My Dad's hearing held up quite well into his late 80s, yet he was around machinery and engines all his life. My Mom, on the other hand, was a homemaker, and is deaf as a post without hearing aids.

I think a big part of hearing loss is genetic, about the only time I use hearing protection is when I run hex bars in a bare metal feed tube, I can still hear a pin drop at 50 paces and I am 60 years old. I have known many a guy start suffering hearing issues in their 40's who the loudest noise they heard at work was a pencil dropped on a floor. I don't see how you could get work comp from machining based hearing loss when you could still machine if completely deaf.