What's new
What's new

help a noobie help a Retired machinist

Hey all, Ill give an introduction for my first post in addition after, thanks.
I am a blacksmith I watched machinist videos and worked on a train, briefly the guys had their own hobby machine shops and kept me interested, one informed me of a man in town selling his machines.
I visited and began building a shop shortly after, the idea was purchase the mill and shaper, poor planning and also general fear of the machinists trade redirected me to just purchase the scrap metal, some hand tools some tables and vises, 3/4" drive set. The story goes on, guys where I am at now is visiting and offering help cleaning moving this sort of thing for the generous deals i was afforded. The problem is the 'scrap' is litterally rusty lathe chucks, and face plates, collet chucks and threading gear sets, do I measure them and see if somebody can use them? Do I save these things from the shredder? I have the time but i just do not know what im getting into. This leads me to the machinery, a large monarch for hydraulic shafts and truck axles basically with a fair bit of riggin' 1-1/4" bore if that gives an idea of the size. a tranas shaper and a big military radial drill, what can I do to make these machines more appealing for sale, starting with better lighting and photos maybe a cleaning and I guess machine measurements?
So part of the reason I am sticking around helping is the abundance of good stuff, I would like to own but cant afford and dont have the shop right now but I am a liscensed truck driver and have seniority for full time so In time I may be able to buy this stuff myself. Now you know so thanks guys and if you want something forged check out your local blacksmith.

1.25 bore sounds like a 16" Monarch.
But that will depend on age and model.

Pics will doo wonders for anyone actually being able to guide you.

-------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox