What's new
What's new

Hourly rates for Brother Speedio-type of machines

bla_bledass

Plastic
I feel like a total noob for asking this question, but what is a sensible hourly rate for a Brother Speedio (or Robodrill and other machines like this) kind of machines? Thus; shoe-boxed sized product, 3-, 4-, 5-axis, entry level machines.

P.S. I'm in western Europe.

My references for costs of machines and hourly rates are all on machines for products >3m. I'm really new to the small stuff and I'm afraid I will be completely off when it comes ot my estimates. We do some part-time machine building (mechatronics) and doing the machining of the mechanical parts myself would really speed up the prototyping. However, in order to make it a sensible investment I will for sure have to do some additional machining for other companies in my area. I want to see how much turnover we can realistically generate with that.

- What COST do you calculate with? Is it with or without programming?
(I assume material is always charged separately)
- Which machine do you have, what was the price of the machine and what % of the hourly rate is the machine?
- What % is the operator?
- What % is consumables (tools, coolant, electricity)?
- What % is maintenance?
- What am I missing?

I will do some mor searching on the forum, and asking around to local machine shops.

Last edited:
Depends on how good you are, and what your clientele can afford. If you're a noob making car parts, maybe $50/hr. If you're a master making medical and aerospace, maybe $200/hr.