What's new
What's new

How to network as a young machinist

thefutureisnow

Plastic
Hey guys,
I’m a young machinist (23) I’ve been working on a shop for two and a half years. I started out as labor and I’ve been on machines for a little over a year. I find machining to be an interesting an exiting field and I’d love to make a career out of it. I’d like to find a new job because management at my current shop is terrible. In order to avoid getting hired into another bad situation I would like to do some networking and actually talk to people face to face and I’m wondering if anyone has any advice on how to do it.
Most everything I know about machining has come through an obsessive amount of reading and research on the Internet. I didn’t go to school for machining and I don’t have any family or friends in the trade. I’ve found there’s a lot of good information on the Internet. Modern machine shop.com, nyc cnc and a lot of you tube stuff, forums, different manufacturers websites etc, etc. I would love to sit down in a roomful of machinists and shop owners and just pick their brain. What it like to work in a big shop vs. a small shop vs. a medium shop? What’s it like to work in a production shop vs. a job shop vs. a prototype shop? Which shops are willing to train? Which shops locally have a good reputation and which don’t? What’s the maximum amount of money I’m worth? I’ve got about a million questions. I’d love to go on a few tours and see some different shops. Obviously there is some of this info that can be found on the Internet, but there’s a limit to how in depth you can actually get when you’re not face to face with people.