What's new
What's new

If you had (or have!) extra money-what to do with it?

Machinery_E

Titanium
Let's say your shop is doing really good...you've got all the bills paid, got all the machinery and tools you need, and you still have money left over...what would you do with it?

I'm curious what you guys would do if your shop was (or is!) a legal money printing press. :D

Last edited:
I'm still a student but my lottery plan is all about machining & engineering.

If I got a few million dollars there would be 3 small local companies I would buy up to get their expertise for my own R&D pursuits. One is medical and does high precision work, one is medical and does prosthesis which means they have composite & polymer (plastic) capability and knowledge along with presumably a little robotics, and the third is a tiny shop but they do alot of splining and gearing so that's a good place to work on power transmission projects by which I mean mechanical.

Shit, we're still trying to figure out what to do with the cash from the 22,000lbs of 17-4 we sold last week. Sum total of good things to spend it on thus far have been... a new microwave. Well, that's $60 gone...

At the point where the bills are paid, money is building your retirement etc. You could follow your heart and give some to projects, tax deductable or not. For myself I often read a story in the paper about someone who is in deep need, kid needs surgery, house floated away etc. Send them something, volunteer fire, first aid, these guys are on my list. Rick Rowlands Museum is always needing $$ for his growing list of Old Iron Saves.

Always pay yourself first, but share with others as well.

Folks that repair wheelchairs and other gear for the needy here in the states and in other disadvantaged countries could always use cash and possibly "in-kind" services or advice. Our physically disabled vets could benefit from the same.