What's new
What's new

I'm thinking about a new truck

PBMW

Titanium
I'm thinking about a new truck. 1 ton Diesel
Maybe dualy... But diesel, 6 spd. Crew cab.
I like the Dodge, Have a couple friends that have Chevy's. Nice trucks.
Not a Ford guy at all, so it's not a choice.
Now, Besides the typical Chevy, Dodge thing, Which one and why?
I like the turbo six cyl cummins, cause it's a cummins, and more torque.
I'm a little afraid of the allison tranny as I've hears some reliability issues about them.
Thoughts?

They are all about apples to apples in comparison and reliability. But when I was a service manager for my brother's contracting company, we had mostly Chevy 2500's (about 6-7 of them), some Ford F150-250's and a couple Dodge 1500's. Dodge's were rubbish (no surprise there, both had new transmissions after 75K miles), the Chevy's were fine (though we did have the 8.1L with the Allison, and after about 15,000 miles the transmission filter was almost plugged with metallic particulates), and the F150-250's were fine but the F250 was a rough ride and a real gas hog.

Cummins is a good diesel, though Dodge is abysmal...and the International is good diesel, but you won't do Ford..and I'm not sure what the consensus is on the Duramax.

If had to choose between the three...I'd buy a Tundra

my freind has had several 1 ton fords and dodge deullys. he just got a new 07 dodge, after the 05 dodge oafter the 02 ford. the ford was in the shop less but had a rougher ride. the 05 dodge had major work 3 times but would do over 95mph with a 4 horse slant load with tach room and camper. the ford would only do 90 mph..... no word on the reliability of the 07 dodge yet