What's new
What's new

Interested in acquiring a established machine shop

AmbysMachineBiz

Plastic
Hello there
I work in tech industry and, my background is business operations & Program/Project Management. I do have Electronics Engineering (Undergrad) and Masters in Engineering Management. I do not have experience in machining(no hands on). But I understand the business and the business model.

Does not having any machine shop experience is a risk in buying and running a machine shop business?

What advice would you have for me to mitigate or reduce the risk if no prior background ?

Thank in advance

IME, you are the wrong person to own a machine shop. If you don't understand machining, you will make the wrong decisions and lose your investment, dragging a bunch of others down with you. I've seen it happen far too may times. Machining is not like any other projects you might have managed; it is bound strictly by the laws of physics, and cannot be swayed or faked by manager willpower, as I've seen lots of MBAs attempt. Every MBA that I've witnessed in charge of machining has attempted to take shortcuts and get by without making the proper investments in equipment, tooling, software, and skilled manpower, despite usually paying lipservice to the contrary. This ALWAYS comes back to bite, making things take significantly longer and cost significantly more than if those investments were made initially, or outright fail.

If you want to mitigate that risk and press forward, spend a decade or three learning machining first.

Wow!

Why?

I am following a similar path after my retirement. My reason was to establish a viable business together with my adult children. We all have good educations in engineering and business. We all have previous experience in industry. Basically, I am inviting them to earn their inheritance before I die.