What's new
What's new

Introducing myself

DanASM

Hot Rolled
I have been coming to these boards for a few years now and havent posted yet. A little about myself...

I have a Brown and Sharpe Cam-Op Screw Machine shop that my father started when I was in kindergarten (I'm 33 now). Until last month we have never had a website or done very much work outside of New England. I've been wanting to get into CNC machining and am finding (like most things) that I am being self taught. Youtube videos have helped me learn to fix cars and repair/fix almost anything. Anytime I have tried to find a CNC training school to help me learn to program I just get the run around (sign up and pay us then you will find out what we do) type of talk.

I recently went to a trade show and met a new sales rep who has helped get some more work for us which is great. But the work I cant do is only due to not having the right machines.

So as I search for the right CNC lathe for my first CNC machine and continue to work towards ISO cert. I will be on these boards frequently asking and answering questions. If anyone has questions about Brown and Sharpe Cam automatics I would be happy to share my knowledge. I've been around these machines since I was a little kid and I could be the youngest on the east coast that can set up and run one of these machines nowadays.

From searching these boards and the interwebs I think its likely I get a mid 90's Mazak with a T+ control. Any thoughts? I can get plenty of work for it so I need something to run day in and day out. I like the idea of magazine bar feeders running lights out in the future as well.

I look forward to hearing some feedback from all the machinists here and across the globe. I know there are a few Brown and Sharpe guys here from New England as well. Some of you may know my father who has been machining for over 30 years.

Thanks,
Dan Hayward
Athol Screw Machine
Manufacturer | Athol Screw Machine Products | United States