What's new
What's new

Investor Financing vs Bank Financing

High-tech, multi-turret machine shop utilizing the latest technology from INDEX/TRAUB with a 40 year family background in machining located in the Midwest seeking capital investment. I’m curious if anyone has experience with seeking investors who are interested in these types of businesses? Currently we are at our machining capacity, and have an opportunity to expand our business significantly with an already established customer. We would like to explore options that don’t include traditional bank financing, and would love feedback from the practical machinist community regarding anyone’s experience with trying to use investors for expansion or where to look for investors interested in job shops.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

After spending the last fifteen plus years as a manufacturing consultant my piece of advice is stay away from a partner/investor or venture capitalist. Nothing can bring a business to its knees like having someone over your shoulder continuously checking numbers and making suggestion or out right making decisions without you.

If you are doing well enough now that you you feel confident in an expansion (Without seeing your business plan and numbers) I would advise you to stay right where you are,,, for now. Obviously you are showing a profit or you wouldn't be considering an expansion. If this is the case just bank the profits until you can reinvest your own capital. The market may look good for you right now but as we all know, things can change in the blink of an eye and the last thing you need standing over you in a crunch is an angry investor wanting to cut his losses.

"The only time to take out a loan is when you don't need one"